Hello world!

I’ve been considering blogging for some time, but it’s so much easier for me just to write it down on paper.  The problem with this, of course, is that it makes it next to impossible to share my thoughts with very many people.  But God has been urging me to get out of my comfort zone and share the thoughts He has been giving me with others so that they may benefit from them.

So, I sat down a couple of days ago and tried to start.  But I couldn’t even think of a good title.  I prayed about it and got out my old hand-written notes from the last 15 years and started reading through them, searching for a title that would embody what I want to share with my readers.  I came upon my January 26, 2001 entry which talked about Psalm 1:1-3, and Bingo!

We live in a fast-paced world full of distractions that keep us from the quiet moments of soul searching that are so beneficial to our spiritual, emotional, and even physical health.  It is so easy to get off kilter and go through days with that empty feeling that something is wrong, but we don’t know exactly what.

But God’s Word is full of wisdom and comforting promises that can help us get back in line spiritually.  Reading it benefits our whole person.

“Blessed is the man (whose) … delight is in the law of the LORD.”   Psalm 1:1,2 KJV

The law or word of Jehova is such a delight, it is delicious to the hungry soul like a delicious meal is to the body.  As we chew it over, we relax and think about how good it is.  We say to the One who “made” it how “delicious” it is and praise Him for His skill and ability!  Its aroma is pleasing; we smile and are at peace.  It brings nourishment to our weary souls to give us strength for the work we must do.

And if God’s Word is so delightful, it only follows that the heart of Him who spoke it is also delightful!  “Oh taste and see that the LORD is good.”  Psalm 34:8  The heart of the one who meditates day and night on these “delicious” words has to be happy as he or she enjoys a continual feast.

And he shall be like a tree which is planted near the running waters,”  Psalm 1:3a (DRA)

This person is not planted by water that is stagnant, but rather by fresh water, constantly fed by currents.  This water is alive, “full of life” (see Expanded Bible), and moving, a cleansing stream.  The person (pictured as a tree) planted by this living water, receives from it all the water and nutrients he/she needs in order to grow, flourish, and bring forth fruit for others to enjoy.  Jehova God and His delightful word are that Living Water.

I want to be planted at His feet, daily enjoying the delectable feast He offers!  I hope you will come along on my journey, and enjoy the delectable banquet of His peace, love, joy, and goodness as we pause by the Living Water to drink and rest and be refreshed!

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

