Yellow light, Red light, Green light

A couple of years ago my husband found out that he was going to lose his job. They kept him on as long as they could, but then they had to let him go.

Somewhere during that process, I had a day or two where I was worrying about what we would do, you know “leaning on my own understanding”? that thing that Proverbs 3:5 tells us not to do? I knew that God would take care of us, but I let myself stress about it anyway.

About that time, I experienced something two days in a row that I found a bit strange.

As I was driving across town, every. single. traffic light that I came to turned yellow as I approached and red by the time I reached it. What was even more strange was that the same thing happened on the way home.

You know, sometimes you’ll have a day when you hit every red light on your way to work or church or some other place where you are supposed to be on time, and you find yourself feeling stressed. Other days you count yourself blessed to have hit every green light. But usually there is a random mixture of red, green, or yellow during any one trip.

But this was yellow, then red– on the way there, and on the way back. And, the second day the same thing happened– on the way there, and on the way back!

Part way through my drive on the second day, I started asking God if He was trying to tell me something!?

In my heart came the words, “The light turns yellow, the light turns red, but it always turns green again.” And I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that God was telling me that even though my husband was losing his job, there would be another job after the stop of the one he had been doing for all those years.

And so it was. My husband was unemployed for almost exactly 6 months, the time that he was able to draw unemployment. Near the end of that time, the Lord sent along someone whom we formerly had not known but who was involved in the same hobby that my husband got involved in. That person recommended him for a job that lasted long enough for the Lord to give him a better job.

Funny–I had forgotten all about it until a few days ago when I started hitting yellow lights over and over again.

So I thought maybe God wanted me to share this with you.

Perhaps some among you, the readers of this blog, find yourselves coming to a place where that which you have been doing is coming to a stop, and change is imminent. There are many forms that this may take; it isn’t limited to job loss and the need to find a new job. I think you know who you are, and I know God knows who you are.

Be assured, that even though our situations change, GOD NEVER CHANGES!

His promises are just as sure as they ever were. He doesn’t change His mind about loving you and taking care of you and helping you just because He allows some difficult change to take place in your life.

The light may turn yellow; the light may turn red. But God will still be in the car with you the whole time. He may even be waiting for you to offer to let Him drive.

But His promise never to leave you nor forsake you will never fail. He will wait with you for the green light.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”  Proverbs 3:5, 6

Don’t be afraid anymore.

Put your confidence in Him.

He will take care of you.

He will carry you through.

Linking up with:

Faith ‘n Friends

2 thoughts on “Yellow light, Red light, Green light

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

