The King

“Hear my cry for help,
my King and my God,
for to you I pray.”  Psalm 5:2

King David addresses Jehovah God as King.  He, being a king himself, would have a better idea than most of us of what this entails.

Here are some ideas:

  1. My King is my Sovereign, my master;  I must obey what He says.  His word is the law, not to be questioned or done away with.
  2. My King is majestic.  He sits in glory on His throne.  Unimaginable beauty and purity are His “clothing”.
  3. My King sits as judge to bring justice to the oppressed and vengeance against their oppressors.  He shows mercy to the humble and judgment to the haughty, unrepentant offenders.

So, what responses should this create in us, the hearers?

  • Humility
  • Obedience
  • Awe
  • Praise
  • Thankfulness
  • Confidence to ask for help
  • Joy
  • Peace

In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly.  Psalm 5:3  NIV

The Amplified Bible says it this way:

In the morning You hear my voice, O Lord; in the morning I prepare [a prayer, a sacrifice] for You and watch and wait [for You to speak to my heart].”

And the Reina-Valera 1960 version states it this way:

“Oh Jehová, de mañana oirás mi voz;     
De mañana me presentaré delante de ti, y esperaré.”

Translation:   Oh, Jehova, in the morning You will hear my voice;

In the morning I will present myself before you, and I will wait.

David doesn’t just lay his requests before God; he presents himself before God.  Jehova sees my whole person when I bring my request before Him.  I cannot hide anything or pretend to be something or someone I’m not as I bring Him my request.  If I were to try that, He might very well have to deal with what I’m trying to hide before He will answer my request.

My prayer:

“Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.”   Psalm 139:23,24  NIV

Lord, I come to You today.  You are King of all.  I welcome You as King of my life.  You are my Master; help me to obey You in all things. Your word is perfect law, not to be questioned or argued with. You are majestic and sit in glory on Your throne.  Be glorified in my life; help me to be a clean vessel through which You can shine.  Rescue the oppressed and bring their oppressors to justice.

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.”  (Psalm 51:10)

In Jesus’ Name I pray,

Amen

2 thoughts on “The King

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

