Not a care in the world

Sometimes my husband and I daydream together and imagine ourselves in some other place, an exotic place, a beautiful place, a relaxing place. Do you ever do that?

Well, last night we were imagining ourselves in a Swiss chalet in the alps, a fire in the fireplace, warm fleecy blankets, looking out the huge picture window at the snow-covered mountainside, without a care in the world.

Wait a minute. Did I just say without a care in the world? Wouldn’t that be nice?

But that’s the phrase that got me: “Not a care in the world.”

Immediately after those words left my lips, a thought flashed onto the screen of my mind.

“Casting ALL your cares upon Him.”

How many?  All?

Well, if I cast ALL my cares on the Lord, then I don’t have any anymore. So, if I do that, TECHNICALLY, I don’t have a care in the world, and I don’t have to go to the beach or vacation in a Swiss chalet in the alps to achieve that.  I can rest in my God who is my refuge in times of trouble.

It’s not that the troubles don’t exist anymore, they do, at least some of them. (Sometimes we invent troubles in our minds that never come to pass.)

But going on vacation doesn’t make the troubles go away either. We just take a break from them for a while, and then we have to face them again when we get back home.

So, what does it mean, then?

When I cast my cares on the Lord, they aren’t really MY cares anymore. Now they are His cares. The burdens are too heavy for me to carry. But they are NOT too heavy for HIM to carry.

When I cast my burdens on Him, I enter the protection of His refuge which is better than any mountain chalet.

He becomes my dwelling place, not just my vacation place.

I can safely walk and function in His loving care 24/7, knowing that He is strong enough to carry those burdens and wise enough to take care of those cares.

Wow, what a relief. I’ve carried these burdens for far too long. I definitely need His help.

You can have them, Lord Jesus.
Amen

Linking up with:

Live Free Thursday

RaRa Linkup

Unite Linky

6 thoughts on “Not a care in the world

  1. I have a hard time with this. Cast ALL my cares? I feel like I need to have my hands on at least some of it to make sure everything works out okay. I have some faith issues. Holding on to God as my dwelling place. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Like

  2. I think most all of us have faith issues of some kind, Kelly. Yes, I was praying for a friend today who has lots of problems, and I got a picture in my mind of the galaxies and nebula and figured that the God who made all that could surely fix those few problems (few in comparison to the immensity and complexity of the universe). I think our biggest problem is in not remembering, in forgetting how great is our God.

    Like

  3. We have been thinking about Heaven and the cares are His. Thank you for sharing these precious words. I just wrote about casting my cares upon the Lord and have been reminded by more than one other this day in reading! I think we are all in need of “doing” this even when we forget, when it is hard. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Linda, you’re right! And I love it how the Lord speaks to us through others and repeats Himself in His speaking to us as many times as it takes for us to get the message! 🙂
      Thank you so much for your encouraging comment!
      You are always welcome here.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

