He Holds My Hand

One day
A friend of mine and I entered a large, dark room,
Wanting to cross to the other side.
My friend had been there many times
And knew the way to the light switch.
I took her hand,
And she led me through the darkness.

We hit no obstacles
Because my friend knew the way,
Even in the darkness.
This same thing happened a second time
A few days later,
And as I thought about it later that day,
A parallel suddenly flashed into my mind.

My days and weeks are often filled
With the unknown,
Which is like a thick fog or darkness
Through which I grope,
Afraid,
And trying to find my own way.

But when I give Jesus my hand
And let HIM lead me
Step by step
Through the unknowns,
HE steers me around the many obstacles
And brings me safely to the other side.

When He wants to turn on the lights,
He does.

But when the darkness prevails,
I can confidently take His hand
And follow with a child-like faith
As He gently leads me
To the other side.
No wonder He has said so many times,
“FEAR NOT.”

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me. They rod and Thy staff, they comfort me…
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.” Psalm 23:4,6

(from my old journal, March 4, 1992)

I wrote this during a very dark period of my life.  My three children and I had returned from France to the US a little over two months prior and were starting a new life here.

God held my hand then and brought me through much darkness to the other side.

And even now, as I begin another bout with a different darkness, as my parents need more and more help just to do the necessary things of living on this earth, He holds my hand and will bring me safely through to the other side.

And friend, no matter where you are in your life today, He wants to take your hand and lead you safely through.  You can trust Him.  He loves you, and He is able!  He is the ultimate example of what a leader should be!

I mean, think of it – The God of the universe holds my hand!!!  Inconceivable but true!

“Sometimes on the mount where the sun shines so bright,
God leads His dear children along;
Sometimes in the valley, in darkest of night,
God leads His dear children along.

Some through the waters, some through the flood,
Some through the fire, but all through the blood;
Some through great sorrow, but God gives a song,
In the night season and all the day long.”  by George A. Young

(http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/God_Leads_Us_Along/ )

100_3010

Linking up with:

Friday Five

2 thoughts on “He Holds My Hand

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

