Wait training

Mom, when will I lose my first tooth? Mom, everybody else has already lost their first tooth; why haven’t I?
Are we there yet???
How many more days till my birthday party?
I’m going to camp this summer; I can’t wait!!

We have been in “wait training” since we were very young. It’s a difficult thing to learn. Maybe because really deep down we don’t want to learn because in reality we want it now?

I think, personally, I will never perfect the art of waiting. There is always something else that I passionately want to happen, either in my life, in the life of someone I know, or in the world at large. But I have to wait.

I’m not talking here about the things that we can do ourselves and are just too lazy or afraid to do, like, “Mom, will you pour me a bowl of cereal?” “Do it yourself! You’re 14 years old!”

I’m talking about the things that we have no power over, like the passage of time, the decisions and choices of other people, a healing or other miracle that can only come from God, something that is not in our power to do, so we have to pray and wait.

There are also some things we can do right now in preparation for things we want to happen, but then we have to wait.

What about you? What are you waiting for? Is it something you can and should do yourself? Is it something for which you can prepare? Or is it something you just have to keep praying for and waiting until God gives the green light and causes things to fall into place at just the right time? His perfect time?

I believe that God has called me to a certain ministry, but I have to wait.  In the meantime, everything I do in obedience to His daily call is preparation and training for that ministry:

  • every blog post I write,
  • every person I witness to,
  • every person I try to encourage,
  • every opportunity I take to serve another in need,
  • every opportunity I take to give generously,
  • every time I work with children,
  • every time I teach,
  • every time I make a phone call or send a card,
  • every time I have to deal with a disgruntled person with grace,
  • every time I have to get on stage for a musical event,
  • every Bible study I do,
  • every Bible verse I memorize….

I think you get the picture.  I am in training even as I minister to others.

“He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much.”  Luke 16:10

As we wait on God, He increases our faith and draws us closer to Himself, He who is holy, perfect Light and Love.  As we grow closer to Him, we become more and more like Him.  That is His ultimate goal for us.  That we might become more like Jesus.  (Romans 8:29 and 1 Peter 2:21-25)

So, having to wait brings us closer and closer to reaching the goal that God has set for us.  It also gives us a reason to praise Him and gives others the opportunity to come to know the Lord and praise Him as well.  Waiting, then, as difficult as it is for us, will be worth it in the long run.

 ¹”I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.”  Psalm 40:1-3

Sharing at:

Friday Five

Mom to Mom Mondays

Good Morning Mondays

6 thoughts on “Wait training

  1. Waiting is hard to understand. We have to believe that God’s purpose for us will all come together through our time of waiting (and in my experience it has). Thanks for sharing at Mom-to-Mom Mondays.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am in the waiting. Thank you for sharing this wisdom, this little bit in particular: “having to wait brings us closer and closer to reaching the goal that God has set for us.” And thank you for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank YOU, Kelly, for hostessing the linkup, and thanks for dropping by to read a spell!
    And as we wait, we are “looking for that blessed hope and the glorious appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ.” Titus 2:13
    Praise the Lord that He meets us where we are and leads us in His timing to where He wants us to be.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

