Five Favorite Bible Stories

It’s interesting to talk with others to find out which are their favorite Bible stories and why those are their favorites.  I think the older I get, the more favorites I have, because something in each one touches something deep in my heart and causes me to relate to one or more of the people in each story.  So the list below is just scratching the surface, and maybe these same stories are your favorites too for totally different reasons.  Feel free to share your favorite Bible story and the reason it is your favorite in the comments below (or via e-mail if you are receiving this via my e-mail contacts).

Five Favorite Bible Stories

Moses is among my favorite Bible characters because God spoke with him and he spoke with God.  In Exodus chapter 19 we read in verses 19-21a (NASB):

“When the sound of the trumpet grew louder and louder, Moses spoke and God answered him with thunder.  The LORD came down on Mount Sinai, to the top of the mountain; and the LORD called Moses to the top of the mountain, and Moses went up.  Then the LORD spoke to Moses…”

Exodus chapter 33 is probably my favorite part of Moses’ story.  Here we read in verse 11:

“Thus the LORD used to speak to Moses face to face, just as a man speaks to his friend.”

And in verse 13, Moses asks God,

“Now therefore, I pray You, if I have found favor in Your sight, let me know Your ways that I may know You, so that I may find favor in Your sight…”

To which God replies,

“I will also do this thing of which you have spoken; for you have found favor in My sight and I have known you by name.”

“Then Moses said, ‘ I pray You, show me Your glory! ‘

Next, we see God tenderly hiding Moses in the cleft of the Rock to protect him and passing by and showing Moses His goodness.

Amazingly, through Christ Jesus who shed His blood for our forgiveness, we too can be intimate with God!  We too can find favor with Him!  We can know Him and speak with Him as a friend!  He shows us His goodness, and He knows our name!

2.  Hagar’s story in the wilderness touches me deep within when I see how tender God was to come to her aid and let her discover that He is the God Who Sees me.

3.  Then there’s Ruth.  Sorry, it’s not vanity.  I just relate to her being a faithful friend and rejoice with her in her being rescued by her kinsmen redeemer.  Boaz is a picture or type of Christ Jesus who rescued me in my dire need.  He gave me love, provided for my needs, and chased away the squatters that were trying to leach off of my heart.

4.  Esther was called by God to be courageous in “such a time as this”.  We live in a world that is lost, and instead of caving to the pressure of the world, God calls us to courageously touch and affect those around us.  It is not a mistake that we were born into this generation.  He has strategically placed us, and He empowers us to do all that He calls us to do.

5.  Daniel is a favorite of mine, in part because he had an intimate relationship with God, but also because he “determined in his heart” what to do and then did it, in spite of the danger he could have been putting himself into by following God instead of the king.  We live in a world that tries to trip us up as servants of God, and we have a much better chance of standing firm if we have determined in our hearts ahead of time to do that which is right no matter the cost.

Which are your favorite Bible stories and why?

One thought on “Five Favorite Bible Stories

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

