Saul vs. David — God wins

I have a neighbor who gives me a bit of insight into what David felt like being so hated by Saul for no fault of his own.

She dumped on me today for the first time in a long time; I normally try to avoid her because nothing good ever comes out of my talking to her. I was so upset at all her false accusations that I actually argued with her this time. But that was dumb. It didn’t do any good. So, I don’t plan on ever trying that again.

After the conversation was over, I was so upset that I was breathing heavily. I don’t think I have ever in my life felt that way before. I called my pastor, and he talked me down from my pride, at least part of it, reminding me that God calls me to keep on loving her and showing her love. But I was still upset enough to feel depressed, and my stomach was upset.

I am so thankful that I have a wonderful elderly friend who has a close walk with Jesus whom I can call when a trial is just too heavy, and she will pray with me right over the phone! She prayed me the rest of the way down, prayed God’s peace over me, prayed that the enemy of our souls be bound and sent away in the name of Jesus.

Now I’m breathing normally again. My sadness has lifted, and my stomach no longer hurts. God answered my friend’s prayer instantaneously!

I’m so glad that she is still here on this earth serving God by doing battle in the heavenlies!

I’m so glad that she shows me the love and power and wisdom of Christ that I need to see.

I want to be that for others as well.  Sometimes the most loving thing we can do for another person is to stop what we are doing, listen to them, and pray with them and for them.

Thank you, Lord for my sweet sister in the Lord!  Help me to be strong in the Lord also so I can be there to pray for others who are in need.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Linking up with:

Live Free Thursday

2 thoughts on “Saul vs. David — God wins

  1. Isn’t it wonderful to have a friend who will pray with you over the phone?!? I have a friend that I don’t get to see often, but we call each other every Tuesday morning to pray over each others’ lives. It is such an uplifting thing for both of us. Thank you for your honesty and transparency in this post. These are things we all struggle with at times.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

