His Love Never Stops

God's Love Never Stops

Can you imagine if God’s love ever just stopped, how horrible that would be?  Let’s put on our imagination goggles and imagine what that might look like:

Imagination #1
It’s the end of the ages, and everybody that’s going to be in heaven is there. All are smiling and rejoicing in the sunshine of His love and holiness. Extreme beauty and light surrounds them.  Everywhere there is singing, praising, and uninhibited clapping of hands. Gracious and joyful fun and fellowship, perfect peace and worship are the order of the day, 24/7, because there is no night and no one ever gets tired.

Then suddenly, God says, “Okay, attention everyone! This is the end of the line. Everyone has to get off the heaven train; My mercy has just run out.”

Scary thought, huh?  I don’t believe I’ve ever actually heard of anybody that even suggests or believes that this is a possibility, and  I’m glad God is not really like that!  In Him is no darkness at all.  (1 John 1:5)

Or how about the next erroneous notion:

Imagination #2
I’ve (you’ve) given my (your) heart to Jesus. He has saved me and given me His Spirit and His joy. I’ve walked with Him for quite some time. But I keep on falling in some area, say, anger or impatience, or worry, etc. And I keep on telling Him I’m sorry and repenting, and He keeps on picking me up and forgiving me.

Until one day He announces, “That is sin number one million. You have reached your quota of free forgiveness passes. I’m stopping the forgiveness train, and you have to get off.

“But Lord!” I cry. “I truly am sorry, and I truly want to follow You!”

And He says, “I’m sorry dear. But my mercy has just run out.”

Enough of these imaginings!

Unfortunately, I have heard of people who actually believe certain variations of this second fabrication.  They may think that they have done some sin that is too great for God to forgive, or messed up one time too many.  But these ideas about God are errant inventions of the evil one.

Let’s speak some of God’s truth into this subject.

“This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
The LORD’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:21-23

His lovingkindness never ceases!

His faithful love never stops!

Never!

His mercies/compassions never fail!

They never end!

His love never runs out!

His mercy never runs out!

Every morning there’s a fresh batch to feed my hungry, needy soul!

“He is my portion” (Lam. 3:24), eternally, that is why I can have hope:

an expectation firmly founded in Him who is my Rock,
in Him who never changes,
in Him who will never leave me nor forsake me!
Amen

Other Scriptures mentioned:  Psalm 92:15; Malachi 3:6; Deuteronomy 31:6,8; Hebrews 13:5b; 1 John 1:7-9

Sharing at:  Writer WednesdayCoffee for your Heart

Glimpses,  Moments of Hope

Mondays @ Soul SurvivalFaithFilledFriday

2 thoughts on “His Love Never Stops

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

