Hiding the Mess

This morning is not the first time I’ve had a conversation like this with my son.

One of the rules at our house is that no one is allowed to eat in the bedrooms. We have a perfectly good area where eating is allowed, and the kids leave their plates and crumbs sitting on the table or countertop and flit off to their next activity more often than not.

But since it is a public area, we as parents are more likely to notice and remedy the situation.

But the bedroom? I’ve found dishes on his floor, on the dresser, on the bed, and once even in his drawer (my guess is that he was trying to hide it because he knows that it is not allowed to be up there.)

Each time I talk it over with him, I hope that the matter is settled and that this will have been the last conversation needed on this subject.

But alas, it happened again.

So, I told him, “Son, I’ve lived in a house that had roaches. (It was in Africa, and there was no controlling them.)  And for the last couple of years we have had to battle ants on the ground floor. Bugs are wild animals.  They go where they can find food. It wouldn’t take much if a couple of roaches somehow got into our house and found their way up to your room, for them to start multiplying and create an infestation. Then we’d have to call an exterminator and hope that they were an honest company, because I’ve heard of companies that actually bring bugs that they release into your house.”

Hopefully this time he gets it.

But, I got to thinking about our conversation, and about how we hide our little sins (so we think) in some room in our heart, a room that is not open to the public. Then we let the junk sit there, and if no one comes along and notices and helps us to clean up our act, we allow more and more dirty dishes and crumbs and mold and trash to accumulate.

Our heart becomes cluttered and dirty.

  • It becomes a place of disorder.
  • It becomes a place of confusion.
  • It becomes a place where the enemy finds a foothold to camp out and strategize his battle plan against us and against the Lord who loves us.  (Ephesians 4:27)

There may be no infestation of bugs, but the sin itself is an infestation of the worst kind.

  • It draws us away from our Lord and away from His word.
  • It distracts us.
  • We still want to hide it, but as the mess grows, it becomes harder and harder to hide.

So, how does this affect us?  King David said it this way:

“When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away
Through my groaning all the day long.
For day and night Your hand [of displeasure] was heavy upon me;
My energy (vitality, strength) was drained away as with the burning heat of summer.”  (Psalm 32:3,4  Amplified)

It’s kind of hard to serve the Lord with energy when one is dragged down by the weight of some sin.

So, what did King David find to be the solution?

“I acknowledged my sin to You,
And I did not hide my wickedness;
I said, ‘I will confess [all] my transgressions to the Lord’;
And You forgave the guilt of my sin. Selah.
Therefore, let everyone who is godly pray to You [for forgiveness] in a time when You [are near and] may be found;  
Surely when the great waters [of trial and distressing times] overflow they will not reach [the spirit in] him.”   (Psalm 32:5,6  AMP)

Oh yes!  I’m thinking this is so much better a scenario, aren’t you!?  We go from bondage to freedom!

And there is even more blessing when we confess and come clean.  Check out verse 1 of this chapter:

Blessed [fortunate, prosperous, favored by God] is he whose transgression is forgiven…

I like to be blessed, don’t you?

And look what God makes possible when we let Him clean up our hearts through the blood of His dear Son:

“Be glad in the Lord and rejoice, you righteous [who actively seek right standing with Him];
Shout for joy, all you upright in heart.”   (Psalm 32:11   AMP)

I like joy.  I would imagine you do, too.  I wonder, is there any sin that we have been trying to hide?  We can’t hide it from Him.

We’d best come clean today.

 

Linking up at:

Spiritual Sundays

 Small Wonder Linkup

Small Victories Sunday Linkup
2 thoughts on “Hiding the Mess

  1. Good thoughts here on fighting sin, and I’m pondering the notion that one of the things that trips us up is taking things away from where they belong – food belongs in the kitchen/dining room; worship belongs to God; sex belongs in marriage; I’m sure there are more to add, but you’ve got me thinking here. Thank you!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

