Cast anxieties on Him Who cares for you

The other day I looked up a French word that popped into my head just like that.

Tracasser.

Tracasser means to worry or bother, and the reflexive form means to worry or fret.

Interestingly, for me at least, “trac” is another French word that means stage fright or nerves. And “casser” is a word which means to break, crack, or snap.

Isn’t that what worrying and fretting do to us, though?

They get us more and more wrapped around the axle until something inside us just snaps, and next thing we know, we’re angrily lashing out or bursting into tears at something that should be really little.  But to us it’s huge because our nerves are already so frazzzzzled!

So, what does God say we are to do when worry strikes us?

“Casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:7

I Love this verse!!  It not only tells me what to do, but it also tells me why I can and should do it!

I’m to cast all my cares/anxieties on Him.

  • That doesn’t mean throw it down at my feet so I can just lean over and pick it up again.
  • It also doesn’t mean walk it over to Jesus and lay it down at His feet for a few minutes only to pick it up again before I leave to carry it back into my day.
  • And, it doesn’t mean attach your anxieties to a fish hook and cast it with your rod and reel to Jesus so that you can reel it back in when you feel the need to mull it over again.
  • Oh, and it doesn’t mean cast some of your anxieties on Him but try to figure the others out for yourself.

CAST IT ALL ON HIM, AND LEAVE IT THERE!

The fact that God says He cares for us in this context is so amazing!  All wrapped up in this verse is the idea that we are unable to handle it on our own, BUT HE IS ABLE TO FIGURE IT OUT, FIX IT, OR HELP IN WHATEVER WAY WE NEED HIM TO!

And, He is not only able, but he is also willing!  He wants to take care of us because of His incredibly sweet, sacrificial, unconditional covenant love for us!

Casting – what action?

All          – how many?

Your      – whose?

Anxieties/Cares – what?

Upon Him – Where?

Because He cares for you – why?

The Psalmist also faced this problem of worry.  In Psalm 94:19 he writes a prayer to God:

“When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,

Your consolations delight my soul.”   (NASB)

What consolations might he have been thinking of?  Here are a few ideas; if these don’t address your situation, I’m sure you can find other consolations for you in God’s Word:

  • He will not abandon us.  Ps. 94:14
  • He is our hiding place.  Ps. 32:7
  • “He is our help and our shield.”  Ps 33:20
  • “he who trusts in the LORD, lovingkindness shall surround him”  Ps. 32:10b  NASB

May our souls trust in Him, and may we be granted to know Him more and to see His love surrounding us instead of focusing on the problems.

Where will we focus our spiritual eyes today?

May God help us to cast our cares on Him and leave them there, trusting fully in Him whose awesome love surrounds us.

Amen

“Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  Hebrew 12:2

Linking up at:

Live Free Thursday

TGI Saturdays

Monday of Many Blessings

Soul Survival Linkup

Fresh Market Friday

Brilliant Blog Posts

Thought Provoking Thursday

7 thoughts on “Cast anxieties on Him Who cares for you

  1. Hi Ruth!

    Thank you again for taking time to share your insights from the Lord. He will reward you for your faithfulness. What a timely devotional! We leave for Belgium next week. So many unknowns right now that trust is huge!

    Love you friend, AM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruth! This is beautiful! I just love pulling apart verses word by word and really digging into their deepest meaning! May I be so bold as to cast my anxieties out at the foot of the cross and leave them there, exchanging them for the peace of Christ! Blessings to you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For me, I love the imagery of the word “Cast” because it is not a half hearted act, but a forceful hurling action which speaks of being intentional and passionate in the casting. I don’t really think I thought much about this until reading your message here, so thanks for prompting deeper thought into a topic we all seem to wrestle with. Blessings, Crystal~

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, Crystal, in Psalm 55:22 the word “cast” is translated from Hebrew, and it means: “to throw out, throw down, or throw away”, and it can be translated “hurl”.
    The passage in 1 Peter is translated from Greek and means “to throw upon”.
    I like the “throw away” definition, which would imply that our fretting is only fit for the garbage. 🙂
    I also like the NT to throw upon which implies that Someone is there to catch it and take care of it for us.
    Either way, it’s definitely intentional, and I’m so glad that God is passionate about His love for us and His desire to take care of us!
    Praise God! 🙂
    Blessings to you as well.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

