Sneaky Little Ants

This year I thought I had escaped the invasion of the ants.

Other people were talking about how the ants were bad at their house this year, but our house only appeared to have a few stray scouts.

Then I started noticing that a few scouts seemed to be consistently hanging around the bathroom sink. I thought, “Why in the world do they keep hanging around the bathroom sink? It’s not like there’s food there for them; is there? It was a mystery to me.

Then one day, natural ant spray in hand, I started lifting objects in the bathroom, trying to get to the bottom of this mystery.

On the window ledge sat a Huggies® Wipes container. I lifted it, and what to my dismayed eyes should appear, but a whole nest of ants and their babies, my dear!

Girls, there was no dirt! Just a dark, secret place to hide.

They tried to scatter, but that natural spray is really good stuff.

A few weeks later, I was noticing ants on the deck around the back door. So once again, I went scouting. I rocked back the water fountain that I got for mother’s day, and history had repeated itself, only on a larger scale!!

It couldn’t have been much more than a month since we had set up the fountain there, but there was a whole nest of ants under it! NO DIRT. All they needed was a dark place to hide and multiply.

Girls, ants are little, but they are so many and so relentless and annoying about intruding on private property. They don’t understand boundaries. Their instinct is for survival.  And keeping to the dark, hidden places as much as possible is their preferred way to go.

About a year ago I wrote another post on ants, The Ants Go Marching In.

I compare these ants to our little sins that we try to hide in our hearts in some dark corner. It’s only one little sin, right? Wrong.

  • Haughty, impatience?
  • Attitudes that occasionally make a run for it across the white countertop in full view, manifested in the deep sigh, the shrugging shoulders, the rolling of the eyes, the angry words that the other driver cannot hear, but our children can.
  • Or the little morsel of gossip that we chase after, all ears?
  • Or the little jealous “It’s just not fair” that sneaks out?
  • Or the worrying or fretting that wrinkles our brow and makes us irritable with innocent bystanders?
  • Or the lack of compassion we show for those who are hurting?  After all, WE have too much on our plates!  Let someone else do it!  But what if God has put you there and asked you to do it?

And on and on the ants march, multiplying in the dark corners of our hearts.

In John chapter 3 a man came to Jesus at night, under the cover of darkness.

One of the things Jesus said to him was, “the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light , for their deeds were evil.  For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.  But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.”   (verses 19-21 NASB)

So I guess the question we need to ask ourselves today is, “Are our hearts giving a nesting place to any little sins, allowing them to multiply in the dark places?  I think that if you have read this far, there is hope for you, that you might like to get rid of those pesky sin critters once and for all.

The Light is Jesus, the Living Word, and the Bible, His written Word.

When we allow God to shine His light into our hearts, He will show us the problem areas.

He has the “ant spray” in His hand, but He doesn’t use it until we recognize the infestation and agree with Him that it needs to go.  In humility we might pray something like this today:

“Lord, I recognize that these ant sins are grieving You.  I’m so sorry for letting them make a nest in my heart.  Please shine Your light in my  heart and do a thorough cleaning today.  Forgive me, please, of (name any specific sins that come to mind), and fill the empty space in my heart with Your Holy Spirit.  Show me every time another sneaky little sin tries to take up residence in my heart, and help me to surrender each one to You before they get a chance to multiply and cause an infestation.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Linking up at:

Fresh Market Friday

Over The Moon Link Party

Give me Grace

Small Victories Sunday Linkup

Spiritual Sundays

Monday of Many Blessings

Soul Survival Linkup

4 thoughts on “Sneaky Little Ants

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

