The Skewed ‘Tude

What is a child saying to his/her parent when he/she refuses to obey?

I’ve thought of a couple of possibilities, though I’m sure there are others.

1. No! I do not acknowledge you as the boss. I want to be the boss of my own life. If you think you should be the boss, then I would rather live in a house by myself with no one to cook for me or do my laundry, no one to tell me when to go to bed or when to wake up, no one to tell me what I can or cannot watch on TV.

Oh, wait, there would be no one to pay for any of that stuff! Well, I would rather live under a bridge with rats than have to obey you. At least I would be my own boss.

2. No! I refuse to cooperate. I do not want you to be my boss.

In fact, I want to be your boss. I want to tell you what to do and what not to do. I want you to obey all my demands. I want you to cook me what I want to eat when I want to eat it. I want you to get out of bed when I say so. I want you to let me stay home from school when I want. I demand to be able to watch TV and play video games whenever I want and as long as I want.

Seems pretty unreasonable, doesn’t it?

But then, kids don’t see the whole picture like grown ups can.  Up to a certain age, they don’t understand the order that could exist and the chaos that they create instead by their willfulness.

Fortunately for them, we still love them in spite of all the frustration they have handed us served up on a platter so many times.

But human nature is awfully “in the rough” isn’t it?

I mean, even as adults we struggle with some of these same attitude problems, and not just toward other people, but toward God.

And just as our children are not actually thinking out all the aforementioned scenarios even though their attitudes would suggest otherwise, so we are most likely not actually thinking or saying all these disrespectful  things to God.

But I wonder how He sees it, He who knows our every thought and intention of the heart.  Does He see our disobedience as saying (without actually saying it):

  • You can be my boss in some things, but not in this.
  • I do not want You to be my Boss!
  • I reserve the right to refuse to cooperate with You on this one.  This, of course, elevates me to boss, but I just can’t do that thing You are telling me to do.
  • I’d rather live without Your blessings if I can just be my own boss and earn my own way.
  • Why didn’t You answer my prayer the way I wanted You to?  If You don’t do it my way, You must be either a mean God or a powerless one.
  • I want You to do what I want when I want it.
  • I want You to keep on blessing me with all of Your many blessings while I continue to disobey You and do what I want instead.

Seems pretty unreasonable, doesn’t it?

But then, even grown ups can’t see the whole picture like God can.

We can’t truly grasp the order that could exist and the chaos that we create instead by our willfulness.

Fortunately He still loves us in spite of all the grief we have caused Him by our offensive attitudes so many times.

Let’s search our hearts and pray with the psalmist:

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Psalm 139:23,24

May the Lord forgive us and help us to remember that He is Lord of all.

Amen.

Linking up at:

Thought Provoking Thursday

Soul Survival

Good Morning Mondays

Small Victories Sunday Linkup

Faith ‘n Friends

Grace & Truth

Fresh Market Friday

Faith Filled Friday

One thought on “The Skewed ‘Tude

  1. He, indeed, is the Lord of all. When we get caught in the trap of disobedience, whether from children or ourselves, God rules and will bring about His plan, no matter what we or the kids do. There may be many hard places from which to climb out, but He is in charge. The more we/they squawk about what is asked or required of us, the more likely there are consequences to pay. I want to learn and grow and be obedient to God. Thanks for this reminder.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

