Uphill Struggle

I’m walking up a mountain in the dark. (Do you ever feel like that’s what you are doing?)

Bit-by-bit I inch forward with only enough dim light to put one foot in front of the other as I climb slowly, ever upward.100_4008

At the bottom of the mountain, quite some distance behind me, the city is on fire. If I glance back over my shoulder, I can see pockets of orange flames shooting toward the inky, starless sky all across the town.

Here on the spongy, leaf-strewn, unknown path I am alone in the dark, but at least I’m not down there in the destruction and chaos. Here, at least, I am safe. Here, I feel at peace.

But, hey! What’s this?100_3982

As I continue my trek uphill in the darkness, an occasional firebrand skyrockets through the air and lands on the damp path before me.

Up to this point I have not been afraid, but as I look down at my feet in the darkness, I notice that I have been walking barefoot all this time. Now I am afraid of stepping on a sizzling coal and burning my feet on the shimmering embers.

So, I cry out to God to protect me from stepping on a burning coal. “Lord, please protect my feet!”

 Now I can be at peace again, because

He gives me the shoes of readiness to stand no matter what, because of the Gospel of peace.  (Ephesians 6:15)

For “He (Christ) Himself is our peace,” Ephesians 2:14

I can continue standing and putting one foot in front of the other because of the reassurance of His great love for me.

I know that no matter how hard the climb in my journey upward toward my heavenly home, my Jesus will always be with me.

 I know that no matter how dark the path may be, He will always give me enough light to take the next step.  (Psalm 119:105)

I know that no matter how alone I may feel, I can have the assurance that He is there by my side; all I have to do is make my requests known to Him, and He will help me.

I know that no matter how much danger may be around me, if I am walking with Him on the path He has prepared for me, He will protect me.

I know that He is with me through all the trials of life.

He prepares and protects my feet to stand firm because He has torn down the wall of division between myself and God through His sacrifice for me on the cross.

I now have unhindered access to the Sovereign King of the universe who loves me and is able and willing to help me.  He invites me to come to Him and seek His help.

It’s not that I should not be careful and aware of the spiritual warfare going on around me and trying to take me down, but in that awareness, my main focus is to be on Him.

In that awareness my faith is to be firmly rooted in His love.

So, I pray with the Apostle Paul for myself and for you today, dear reader:

“that He may grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power in the inner man through His Spirit, and that the Messiah may dwell in your hearts through faith. I pray that you, being rooted and firmly established in love,  may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the length and width, height and depth of God’s love, and to know the Messiah’s love that surpasses knowledge, so you may be filled with all the fullness of God. 

Now to Him who is able to do above and beyond all that we ask or think according to the power that works in us— to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever.

Amen.

(Ephesians 3:16-21  HCSB)

100_2798

Linking up with:

Living Free Together

Give me Grace

TGI Saturdays

Thought Provoking Thursday

Coffee For Your Heart

Testimony Tuesday

Ra Ra Linkup

Small Wonder

Mom-to-Mom Mondays

Soul Survival

Good Morning Mondays

Small Victories Sunday Linkup

Dance with Jesus Linkup

Grace and Truth

That Friday Blog Hop

Faith ‘n Friends

Faith Filled Friday

Fresh Market Friday

8 thoughts on “Uphill Struggle

  1. “Unhindered access” to the King of the universe. Amazing that I can tear myself away from prayer — but instead it can sometimes seem like a chore. Thank you for words of encouragement here today to persevere in relationship with God.

    Like

  2. This is absolutely beautiful, Ruth. I am so thankful you stopped by and left such sweet encouragement on my blog and told me about this post. YES, dear friend, this is exactly how my family and I have felt over the course of the past few years. The battles have been intense, but I tell you this, we have never felt more in tune with His mind and will. That makes the battles worthwhile. I am so thankful for your encouragement today…it truly meant so much. God bless you in the new year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Cheryl for pushing forward through the guidance and power of the Holy Spirit to continue to walk with God one step at a time through the darkness and the spiritual battles. Your testimony of how you made it through only by the power of God is an inspiration to me, and I’m sure to others as well. I’m posting your url so others can get to your story from this comment:
    http://cherylsmithministries.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2016-12-23T19:19:00-08:00&max-results=1&start=2&by-date=false

    May the Lord, our Shepherd, give you a breather these last couple of days of 2016 before He leads you ever higher in the mountains of His love, ever forward and upward, for His glory and honor.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

