Where to find true happiness

“How happy your people must be! How happy your officials, who continually stand before you and hear your wisdom!” 1 Kings 10:8 NIV

“How blessed your men must be! How blessed these servants of yours must be because they are always stationed in front of you, listening to your wisdom!”  1 Kings 10:8  GW

These words of the Queen of Sheba to King Solomon struck me as interesting today. She was awestruck by all that she saw and heard when she came to visit King Solomon.

She could not imagine anyone not being blessed who was in the presence of such a wise king who provided lavishly for all who were in his court!

But do we not have an even more wise King who always is present with us ready to bless us with His wisdom and lavish provision?

How often do we visit with Him?

Are we dwelling in His wonderful presence, and focusing on His wonderful love?

Or are we missing out on the true happiness that can only be found in Him?

Let’s approach Him in reverence every day so that we may receive of all that He wants to give us!  Then we will be truly happy and blessed!

Can you think of a time when you found true happiness in God’s presence?  I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

Blessings to you.

For more reading on this subject, check out:

The Secret Place,

The Biggest and Best Portion, and

God is De-light-ful!

Photo credit: Ali Hamim on Pexels.com

7 thoughts on “Where to find true happiness

  1. I really don’t like the word happiness. I started to give up the end of 2017. But I know what you’re asking 😉

    I would say some moments I’ve experienced a height of overwhelming state of love, contentment has to be during some dark moments. God makes His presence known and it is so precious to me. ❤ It overwhelms my soul and overfills my broken cup. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you didn’t give up!
      I used the word happy here because some translators translate blessed and happy interchangeably. I know I’ve heard that happy is considered more fleeting than joy and I believed that for a while. But if you look at https://www.dictionary.com/browse/happy joy is one of the definitions of happy, as are “good fortune; pleasure; contentment” https://www.dictionary.com/browse/happiness . I think the words happy and happiness get a bit of a bad rap because the world, and often even the church in the western world, are searching for that good feeling in all the wrong places, and millions think that it can be found and held through selfishness. The god of this world has blinded the minds of many to the fact that true and lasting love/joy/peace/happiness/pleasure/contentment is found only by dying to self. It is found and held through sacrifice, through giving oneself away to God and through serving Him by showing love to others.
      Yes, being in the presence of the Lord is such a precious experience! That overflowing cup is so much more amazing than the temporary experience that many find in owning a new this or that. Those new products don’t stay new very long. But God stays wonderful, unsoiled, uncrashed, unbroken, forever and ever!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amen! I agree! I think with how the world often celebrates happiness with self love, indulgent, etc, I stray further from it. And it is a personal choice. I like words like joy amd contentement better, mentally, it has a different mindset, and end goal, I am reaching for. But nice to see how happiness can be used positively 🙂 thanks for sharing that!!

        Liked by 1 person

Welcome to the conversation! I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.