Praise is beautiful on you

“I will bless the LORD at all times;
His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34:1 NASB)

Wa-wa-wait a minute! Back up a second!
What did that say?

Praise. Continually?

You mean I can’t yell at my kids when they make me mad?

Praise.  Continually.

You mean I can’t insult that driver that just cut me off, even though he can’t hear me?

Praise.  Continually.

You mean I can’t criticize a sister or gossip or let out a huge growly sigh while I roll my eyes impatiently?

Praise.  Continually.

Okay, that’s just impossible.  Isn’t it?

Praise.  Continually.

In Psalm 33:1 (NASB) we read:

Sing for joy in the LORD, O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming to the upright.”

I’d like to suggest that God does not command us to do the impossible without making a way for it to be possible.

If you look at Psalm 33 you will see:  “Give thanks TO the LORD…sing praises TO Him,” (verse 2) and “Sing TO Him a new song,” (verse 3 – emphasis mine).  And there are many other such admonitions in the Psalms.

But verse one of Psalm 33 holds the key.  “Sing for joy IN the LORD, O you righteous ones.”  First we have to be IN Christ.  Then we have to be walking close to Him, keeping short accounts with Him, bringing every thought into subjection to His authority.  When we are truly abiding IN Him, and not trying to go our own way and follow our selfish desires, His joy will well up in us like a fountain.  (Check out Jesus’ teaching in John 15.)

▀█░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░█▀

▬▬▬►»  IT IS HIS JOY, NOT OUR OWN!  « ◄▬▬▬

▄█▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒█▄

     “These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full.”  John 15:11 NASB  (emphasis mine)

When I abide in Him,

▲▼▲▼▲▼▲▼HE GIVES ME HIS JOY TILL I AM FULL TO OVERFLOWING!‼  ☺  (also see Nehemiah 8:10 – It is the joy of the LORD that is our strength, not the joy of ourselves.)

Then, the second part of Psalm 33:1 says,

100_4342

“Praise is becoming to the upright.”

Becoming can also be translated suitable or beautiful.

So, let’s pick this apart.  If praise is becoming to the upright, then would it not also be true that the opposite of praise is unbecoming to the upright?  If praise is suitable for the upright, would the opposite of praise be unsuitable for the upright?  And if praise looks beautiful on the face and demeanor of the upright, would it not also follow that the opposite of praise looks ugly on us?

Okay, now.  I don’t know of anybody that wants to do anything to make themselves ugly (except maybe an actor in a play on a temporary basis).  I know I need all the help I can get in the beauty department.  So this is a huge beauty tip for me!

So, that’s it, ladies.  The best product for beautification cannot be bought.  It is an attitude of the heart that shows up on the face.  It costs nothing and yet everything, that is, it costs the laying down of self, the surrender of pride to the Lord.

Anybody up for some abiding in Him?

Joy and praise look beautiful on you!!

Linking up with:

Living Free

Living Free…Together

3 thoughts on “Praise is beautiful on you

  1. Great insight, Ruth! I’m there with you–though in trying times it is a battle to hold fast to our joy and praise when mourning wells up. However, we know that there is a time and season for all things. I strive for the balance in each so I may stand upright.
    Joy to you!
    Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, Kathryn, I agree. The enemy of our souls throws up all kinds of distractions to keep us from praising God. I think he knows that God inhabits the praises of His people, and that’s something the enemy wants to steal from us. That’s why it is so important to remember to praise God anyway. We need to abide in God’s Presence so He can give us His joy. And in those times of deep loss, we can still praise Him, but it does seem that the feeling of joy is quite different, more like peace in being held by Him.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

