Day 97 – Thankful for Yaktrax™ (photos)

Yesterday morning I needed to go out to take care of some business at the auto repair shop. We had had freezing rain overnight, and the temperature was still about 32° F / 0° C. I took one step onto the back porch and realized that it was slippery! Go figure! 😁

I remembered the Yaktrax™ that my husband bought a few years ago and decided to put them on.

Yaktrax™ are metal coils wrapped around some sort of stretchy, rubbery material that stretches over the bottom of your shoes.

They do a pretty good job of keeping you from slipping, but you still have to be careful.

This reminds me of a verse that says:

“Pay careful attention, then, to how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, redeeming the time because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15,16 Berean Study Bible

We live in a cold, icy world, spiritually, and God wants us to be wise and to be careful how we walk and interact with one another.

His Holy Spirit lives in His children, and He gives wisdom to us when we ask for it.

But it’s still up to us to be careful, to walk in obedience to the Spirit’s leading, and to measure our words when we speak to others. (I could write another whole post about the tongue, but I won’t do that right now.)

Today I am thankful for Yaktrax and how they keep me from sliding on the ice and injuring myself.

I’m also thankful for the Holy Spirit who gives me wisdom and helps me be careful what I say so I don’t slip up and injure myself and others through my words.

What about you? Have you ever heard of Yaktrax™ before? Have you ever considered that you might injure yourself when you injure others with mean words? Are there unwise ways that you’ve been walking in life that you need to change?

(P.S. I did not receive any free product or compensation for talking about Yaktrax. This is just something that my husband and I happen to like.)

5 thoughts on “Day 97 – Thankful for Yaktrax™ (photos)

Welcome to the conversation! I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.