Day 226- Thankful for showers of blessing

I know I’ve written before about thunder and storms here and here, and I had forgotten that I already wrote about refreshing summer rain , but there’s just something so peaceful about a summer rain after a few weeks of dryness.

Several days ago I finally broke down and watered the garden because it had been so dry, and the most recent tomatoes were smaller than before. The rain we were supposed to get the last couple of times barely materialized.

So, it was such a blessing to hear the pitter-patter of raindrops outside for a little while. I’m sure the plant life was happy about it, including the garden. And I am happy for the green, the growth, and the better harvest that it will bring.

Since that time, we have had more and more dry days, and it makes me yearn for the showers of blessing again.  I can run the the sprinkler, which is a blessing in and of itself, but God always does such a better job.

You know, sometimes we go through dryness in our souls as well, and when the Lord sends showers of blessing, in whatever form that may be, we can rejoice that he has refreshed our hearts with a reminder of His love. He is so good about boosting our weary faith that way, isn’t He? Our efforts at boosting our own faith always come up short.  It is His Spirit and His word that are the Spiritual water of refreshing that we need.  May we continue to pray for His showers of blessing, both the water kind and the spiritual and material blessings that He so graciously gives.

“Yet He has not left Himself without testimony to His goodness: He gives you rain from heaven and fruitful seasons, filling your hearts with food and gladness.”  Acts 14:17 BSB

 Today I am thankful for rain showers that take away the dryness.

I’m thankful for the pitter-patter of raindrops that sound so peaceful outside.

I’m thankful again for the green and the growth that the rain produces. 

I’m very thankful for His Spirit and His word!

And I’m thankful that the Lord renews and grows our faith by sending showers of blessing to encourage our weary souls.

 

What about you? Do you enjoy the sounds of a summer rain?  Are you thankful for the spiritual showers of blessing that bring joy to your soul?

19 thoughts on “Day 226- Thankful for showers of blessing

  1. Just like I can’t make it physically rain, I am unable to refresh my faith on my own. I sometimes find myself saying (along with the father in Mark 9) “I do believe, God, help my unbelief.” Thank you for the reminder that showers of blessing come from God.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was a child, I would sit on our big front porch during a storm and enjoy the sounds and the smells of rain. I do the same now when I can. And to think that our spiritual blessings are even better than our rain! I need to sit and enjoy those blessings more than I do.

    Liked by 1 person

Welcome to the conversation! I'd love to hear what you have to say about this!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.